26 May, 2015

HCL’s Inaugural Awards Evening

Oh what a night! Nine prestigious awards were presented in a fantastic celebration of the very best in education catering and service excellence at HCL’s inaugural Staff Awards Evening on Thursday May 14th.

Held at The Hilton Hotel, Watford and presented by celebrity TV host Des Coleman, along with a magnificent performance by the number one tribute act – Fake That!, 200 colleagues from across the business celebrated their prestigious nominations from Head Teachers and Management.

Launching our first Annual Staff Awards night, HCL were overwhelmed with the number of schools and colleagues who wanted to enter their Front of House catering teams and Head Office associates for one of the 9 awards categories. Clearly demonstrating the value and appreciation of HCL staff amongst their peers, colleagues and clients.

Judging took place to shortlist the huge response in a closed room many weeks ago, bringing together teams and individuals from across the County who, in the judge’s opinion were praiseworthy and well deserved nominations. Alongside the main awards, 14 colleagues marked their Long Service contribution of up to 30 years with HCL with a special presentation.

The evening began with a traditional photo call for all guests before they stepped onto the specially laid Red Carpet and on to a reception drinks party, before taking their seats for a three course dinner in a spectacular setting of lights, staging and table décor.

The menu: Prawn Cocktail, Roasted Rump of Lamb and Tart au Citron.

Each of the 9 awards were sponsored by one of HCL valued Suppliers who announced the winners from each category – with the traditional opening of a Gold Envelope! They were joined on stage by HCL’s Chief Executive, Lin O’Brien and Chairman, Peter Maguire who presented each winner with an engraved glass Trophy and framed Certificate of Achievement.

With live feed cameras direct to two large screens either side of the huge stage, the anxious trepidation of the nominated and then the sheer joy and excitement of the winning team’s reaction was captured for all to see and celebrate.

Lin O’Brien said ‘Our Awards Night was all about Celebrating Success – recognising individuals and teams across our business who consistently deliver Service Excellence. Our staff are our greatest asset – and this evening was a wonderful opportunity to demonstrate how HCL values their contribution to our thriving new company.’

Host Des Coleman captivated and delighted guests with his cheeky humour and musical talents, getting the whole evening off to an upbeat start with the popular song ‘Amarillo’. Fake That! performed an outstanding spectacle of all the well-known and great classics from Take That, packing the dance floor with happy guests who partied with them until midnight!

Winners and Finalists

Primary School/Academy Catering Team of the Year (below 200 meals per day)
sponsored by McCain Foodservice

Highbury Infant and Nursery School – Winner
St Nicholas Primary School (Stevenage)
St Meryl JMI School
Bishop Wood CofE Junior School
Oak View Primary School

Primary School/Academy Catering Team of the Year (above 200 meals per day)
sponsored by Pasta King (UK) Ltd

The William Ransom Primary School – Winner
Round Diamond Primary School
Garden Fields JMI School
DeHavilland Primary School
Greenway Primary and Nursery School

Special Education Schools Catering Team of the Year
sponsored by Bidvest 3663

The Collett School – Winner
Colnbrook School

Secondary School/Academy/Commercial Catering Team of the Year
sponsored by Calypso Soft Drinks Ltd

Turnford School – Winner
Sir John Lawes School
St Clement Danes School

Delivering Service Excellence (Team Entry)
sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions

HCL Projects Team – Winner
Kenilworth Primary School Catering Team
HCL Cleaning Team
HCL Admin Team

HCL Manager of the Year
sponsored by Histon Produce

Kirsty Cameron, Contract Manager – Winner
Jo Daymond, Contract Manager
Leona Burt, Contract Manager
Richard Rowe, Ralph Sadlier School
Andrew Sugden, Contract Manager

Innovation Award
sponsored by Premier Foodservice

Wendy Stanway, Public Health Programme Co-ordinator – Winner
Andrew Sugden, Contract Supervisor
Broadfield Primary School Catering Team

Mobile Workforce Award
sponsored by Hobart UK

Tammy Taylor, Contract Supervisor – Winner
Sari Anne Worsley, Contract Supervisor
Annie Sillars, Contract Supervisor
Mel Levell, Senior Skills Trainer

Specialist Category Award
sponsored by W.V. Howe Ltd

Sacred Heart School (Ware) – Winner
Cerwyn Jones, Contract Supervisor
Wheatfields Junior School